The rules for accepting passengers to Iran

Protocol for Coronavirus (COVID 19) for traveling to Iran:


Iran accepts foreign passengers and travelers from 23rd October 2021 and issues tourist visas for them. Iran Ministry of Health and Medical Education issued a protocol for breaking the spread of the pandemic as follows:

    • All fully vaccinated travelers are welcomed to Iran.
    • All passengers 8 years or older even fully vaccinated travelers, must provide proof of a COVID-19 negative molecular test result. You must take a molecular test within 96 hours of the scheduled departure time of your flight to Iran.
    • Passengers should apply for an Iran visa through Iranian authorized tour operators and travel agencies.
    • Iran accepts the passengers of countries with fewer COVID 19 cases. The passengers from the following countries including those travelers who traveled to these countries within 14 days before their trip to Iran are prohibited to enter Iran. International organizations’ authorities, diplomates, government official staffs who have an official permit from the Iran government are an exception to this rule. The pilots who have been sent to these countries for training courses can enter Iran if they have an official letter from their airline.

Botswana, Brazil, India, Lesotho, Malavi, Mozambique, Nepal, South Africa, Zambia, Zimbabwe, Uruguay, and Eswatini.

The following countries are among the countries with a high risk of COVID 19 and travel to them is subject to compliance with certain protocols:

Argentina, Cape Verd, Bolivia, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Ecuador, Egypt, Lithuania, Malaysia,

Maldives, Namibia, Paraguay, Pero, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Mongolia, Syria, Seychelles, Tanzania, Trinidad, Tobago, and Tunisia. The travelers of these countries or those who were in transit in these countries for more than 4 hours, must provide a PCR test. There is an exception for Passengers from Lithuania if they are vaccinated with the final dose at least 15 whole days before arrival to Iran.

The passengers from other countries are on the green list and can travel to Iran providing a PCR test before entering Iran.

Travelers from Belgium, Austria, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech, Finland, France, Germany, Denmark, Estonia, Greece, Ireland, Hungary, Latvia, Luxemburg, Malta, The Netherlands, Poland, Portuguese, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, and the United Kingdom don’t need PCR testing if they are fully vaccinated.